Pursuing excellence since 1971

The purpose of the foundation is to promote health care through grants to medical centres, hospitals, and other institutions within the health care system, as well as to individuals in need of medical treatment.

THE FOUNDATION

For 46 years, the Helmut Horten Foundation has promoted health care in Switzerland.

The foundation supports medical research, medical treatment, and nursing care. In the field of fundamental medical research, the organisation also promotes the academic work of students at Swiss universities. The institution was founded in 1971 by Helmut Horten. Since his death, his wife Countess Heidi Goëss-Horten has assumed responsibility for the business of the foundation.

The Founder

Helmut Horten
(1909 - 1987)
Founder and Donor

Helmut Horten was among the exceptional entrepreneurial personalities who brought economic prosperity to the Federal Rupublic of Germany in the post-war period. Always searching for projects that gave meaning and purpose to his life, Helmut Horten devoted himself to biological and medical challenges and the protection of human health.

Projects

The Helmut Horten Foundation supports scholarly research in the field of fundamental medical research conducted by young talents at Swiss universities.

In addition, the following three institutions are the focus of long-term funding.

Excellence

Antonio Lanzavecchia
prof. dr.
am irb in bellinzona

A dynamic doctoral programme that allows students to work on their dissertations as part of one of the international IRB research groups. So far, more than 40 students have successfully graduated and now hold prominent positions in world-leading institutions.

Seit 1971
auf der Suche nach
Exzellenz

Die Stiftung bezweckt die Förderung des Gesundheitswesens durch Zuwendungen an medizinische Forschungsstätten, Spitäler und sonstige Institutionen der Krankenpflege sowie an Personen, die im medizinischen Sinne bedürftig sind.

die stiftung

Seit 46 Jahren fördert die Helmut Horten Stiftung in der Schweiz das Gesundheitswesen

Die Stiftung setzt sich für die medizinische Forschung, Heilbehandlungen und die Krankenpflege ein. Im Bereich der medizinischen Grundlagenforschung fördert die Organisation auch wissenschaftliche Arbeiten von Studenten an Schweizer Universitäten. Die Institution wurde 1971 von Helmut Horten ins Leben gerufen. Seit seinem Tod begleitet seine Gattin, Gräfin Heidi Goëss-Horten, die Geschäfte der Stiftung.

Der stifter

Helmut Horten
(1909 - 1987)
Gründer und stifter

Helmut Horten gehört zu jenen Unternehmerpersönlichkeiten, welche die Bundesrepublik Deutschland in der Nachkriegszeit zur wirtschaftlichen Blüte gebracht haben. Stets auf der Suche nach Werten, die seinem Leben Sinn und Inhalt geben, beschäftigte sich der Stiftungsgründer mit biologischen und medizinischen Fragen zum Schutz der menschlichen Gesundheit.

Projekte

Im Bereich der medizinischen Grundlagenforschung fördert die Helmut Horten Stiftung wissenschaftliche Arbeiten von jungen Talenten an Schweizer Universitäten.

Zusätzlich stehen die drei folgenden Institute im Fokus der langfristigen Förderung.

Exzellenz

Antonio Lanzavecchia
prof. dr.
am irb in bellinzona

Ein dynamisches Doktoratsprogramm ermöglicht es Studenten, ihre Dissertation in einer der internationalen IRB-Forschungsgruppen zu erarbeiten. Bisher haben mehr als 40 Studenten erfolgreich promoviert und exzellente Positionen in weltweit führenden Institutionen eingenommen.